Home Page

Walkeringham Primary School


Curriculum Information

What is the EYFS?


The Early Years Foundation Stage is a discrete time in a child's development. It has it's own curriculum from birth to 5 years. Through play and exploration your child will be learning new skills, acquiring new knowledge, developing their understanding and their social skills through the EYFS curriculum. The Foundation Stage covers 17 strands in 7 areas of development and learning. These are the three prime areas which are focused upon more heavily initially. These 3 areas are essential for your child's healthy development and future learning.

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Language and Communication

As your child grows and develops,  these prime areas will support them to develop skills and knowledge in the 4 specific areas.

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

Below is a link to a Parents Guide to the EYFS.